Canellakis conducts Brahms


    Mussorgsky (orch. Shostakovich) Dawn on the Moscow River (Prelude to Khovanshchina)
    Shostakovich Cello Concerto No. 1
    Brahms Symphony No. 4


  • Karina Canellakis conductor
  • Pablo Ferrández cello

Canellakis conducts Brahms's fearless Fourth Symphony.

Do not go gentle into that good night: Brahms’s last symphony begins softly, but as he approaches the end of a lifetime’s struggle, he strides fearlessly into the raging storm. Shostakovich’s First Cello Concerto, meanwhile, is a questioning voice from an age of tyranny: tense, urgent and utterly uncompromising, it’s one of 20th-century music’s ultimate thrillers. With a soloist as committed as Pablo Ferrández, this is edge-of-the-seat stuff: just as you’d expect when LPO Principal Guest Conductor Karina Canellakis tackles music that asks big questions, and offers honest answers.


Please note that as this concert is being filmed for future streaming, there will be cameras situated in the Hall and an element of lighting for film. We will endeavour to ensure that audience sightlines are not affected.

Wed 21 Feb 2024, 7.30pm

Royal Festival Hall

Tickets £14 - £70

Book Now

Offers & Discounts

Save up to 30% on full price tickets at the Southbank Centre, London, with our multi-buy series discounts.

book 10 or more seats and access discounted tickets for our Southbank Centre concerts.

Students get £10 tickets through Student Pulse.  Find out more and book here.

Find more ways to save


Sign up to our mailing list

Sign up Arrow