Oksana Lyniv conducts Dvořák


    Janáček Suite, The Cunning Little Vixen
  • Victoria Vita Polevá The Bell - Symphony No. 4 for Violoncello and Orchestra (UK premiere)
  • Dvořák Symphony No. 8


  • Oksana Lyniv conductor
  • Inbal Segev cello

Oksana Lyniv conducts Dvořák's happiest symphony - his Eighth.

‘Writing music was what I knew as life’ says the Ukrainian composer Victoria Vita Polevá, describing her childhood, and few living composers write with more beauty, more power or more unsparing emotional honesty. A Polevá premiere is a major event, and today we’re proud to join cellist Inbal Segev for the first UK performance of her Cello Concerto. Polevá’s compatriot Oksana Lyniv conducts, and she’s paired it with Janáček’s irrepressible fox-tale, and Dvořák’s happiest symphony. Expect sunshine, dance rhythms and birdsong: music, in other words, that makes you feel glad to be alive.

Fri 9 Feb 2024, 7.30pm

Royal Festival Hall

Tickets £14 - £70

Book Now

Offers & Discounts

Save up to 30% on full price tickets at the Southbank Centre, London, with our multi-buy series discounts.

book 10 or more seats and access discounted tickets for our Southbank Centre concerts.

Students get £10 tickets through Student Pulse.  Find out more and book here.

Find more ways to save

* Co-commissioned by the London Philharmonic Orchestra and Dallas Symphony Orchestra.


Sign up to our mailing list

Sign up Arrow