Debut Sounds ?

In July 2022 our five LPO Young Composers created five new concertos, performed by LPO soloists, and conducted by Composer-in-Residence Brett Dean, who also guided their composition process over the course of the year.

Filmed at the Southbank Centre’s Queen Elizabeth Hall, these works were performed by an ensemble comprising  LPO players and some of our Foyle Future First musicians.

Watch the full performance, including introductions by Brett Dean and all the composers, in the video above.

Composers and works

Alex Ho – Splinter
Sebastian Pennar – double bass

Conrad Asman – Concerto for Piccolo and Orchestra
Stewart McIlwham – piccolo

Angela Elizabeth Slater – Through the Fading Hour, Concerto for viola
Richard Waters – viola (Chair supported by Caroline, Jamie & Zander Sharp)

Yunho Jeong – Concerto for Clarinet and Orchestra ‘Der vogel kämpft sich aus dem ei…’
Benjamin Mellefont – clarinet

Rafael Marino Arcaro – Violin Concerto
Kate Oswin – violin (Chair supported by Friends of the Orchestra)

Sign up to our mailing list

Sign up Arrow