National Concert Hall, Taipei


  • Mendelssohn Hebrides Overture
  • Sibelius Violin Concerto
  • Brahms Symphony No. 1


  • Edward Gardner conductor
  • William Wei violin

Be transported to the storm-tossed Scottish Isles and frosty Finland with Mendelssohn's Hebridean Overture and Sibelius's Violin Concerto.

Johannes Brahms spent the best years of his youth writing his First Symphony: an epic emotional autobiography that begins with the pounding of a heart in torment and ends with a hymn of triumph – and a tune you’ll never forget. But then, tonight’s concert is all about the Romantic imagination, whether the storm-tossed melodies of Mendelssohn’s Scottish seascape, or the icy vistas and fiery heart of Sibelius’s only violin concerto. Edward Gardner brings all his sense of drama, and violinist William Wei – praised by critics for his ‘unique, sensitive sound’ – dazzles with the virtuosic and brooding Sibelius.

Tue 10 Oct 2023, 7.30pm

Book Now Arrow


Sign up to our mailing list

Sign up Arrow